In order to ensure these cookies are “safe” for you or your corn-allergic friend to enjoy, watch out for the following:
- Most jams are not corn-free, even when they use real sugar. The problem is the pectin which, in North America, is usually made from corn. Make your own jam using old-fashioned pectin-free recipes (tricky but good), or seek out one that specifically used fruit pectin, not just generically-labelled “pectin.” Hint: You’ll probably have more “luck” with a European brand…corn just isn’t nearly as pervasive an ingredient in Europe as it is in the Americas.
- Vanilla extract is also very hard to source that doesn’t contain corn- or wheat-based alcohol. I found this one, which is really nice, but now I mostly make my own. Only trick is you need to make it three months before you need it. I usually start a new bottle just about every month or six weeks in order to stay ahead of my needs. It keeps really well, so having “too much” isn’t a problem.
Oh, these cookies are good! I make these, and they just vanish.
If you choose your ingredients carefully, they are wheat/gluten-free, corn-free, egg-free, and dairy-free, and, as the author says, if you use maple syrup, they will also be vegan.
By the way, I just use whatever kind of alternative milk I happen to have on hand; I don’t bother about making sure it is almond milk. It really doesn’t seem to matter at all.
They only take about 20 minutes to make, too!
Let me know what you think in the comments section, below, or leave a comment on our Facebook Page.